Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Another LP member, former Energy Sec. Carlos Petilla jumps to PDP-Laban

Former President Noynoy Aquino and Ex DOE Sec Jericho Petilla / photo file by Malacanang grabbed from Rapplerr (ctto)

Manila, Philippines - Former Energy Secretary Carlos Jericho Petilla left Liberal Party (LP), the political party that carried his senatorial race in 2016 election and is the party of former president Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino. 

Last August 2, Petilla took his oath as new member of Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas Bayan (PDP-Laban), joined in together with his younger brother, Leyte Governor Leopoldo Dominico Petilla. 

Both Petilla borthers joined the mass oath-taking of new PDP-Laban members lead by Senate President Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III, who is also the current PDP-Laban president.

According to Petilla, he was invited by Pimentel to join PDP-Laban through “Lutz” Barbo, a former governor of Eastern Samar, current Senate secretary and is also one of the high-ranking officials in PDP-Laban.

Petilla was appointed by former president Benignoy “Noynoy” Aquino as Energy secretary back in October 2012. He then resigned in June 2012 to prepare for his senatorial race under the same party - LP in 2016. However, he did not make it to the magic 12.

The former Energy secretary, however, explained that he left LP to get more support by being politically aligned with the current administration. He also dismissed the rumors that leaving LP is for him to prepare for the 2019 elections or securing a possible Cabinet appointment.

“Politically, we can survive. However, how can the province ask for assistance if we are not politically aligned with the administration? So it is a decision that is actually not only good for us but more so, for the province,” Petilla said.

In May 2017, the following members of LP also jumped to PDP-Laban party from Liberal Party: Ansaruddin Adiong, Lanao del Sur 1st District; Winston Castelo, Quezon City 2nd District; Geraldine Roman, Bataan 1st District; Nancy Catamco, North Cotabato 2nd District; Alfred Vargas, Quezon City 5th District.